The Butler’s Arms, Sutton Coldfield – A lovely hidden gem!

I recently ventured to Sutton Coldfield to take my nieces to a Christmas Journey. On booking it was decided that we would get there mid-morning and then go for lunch after our little venture.

Even though I am born and raised in the Midlands, I have never really been to Sutton Coldfield or heard of any amazing restaurants there.

Being the foodie of the family my designated job of the trip was to find a decent place to grab lunch… Now, this would be simple if my family were not all keen eaters (including me) and all had different things they liked – especially my mum who can be fussy with new tastes and worldly foods!!!

However, after trawling the net I saw that a little pub about 20 minutes from The Belfry seemed to be a highly recommended restaurant, I decided to go on recommendation.

When we arrived, the pub was ridiculously busy, however we had arrived earlier than our booking and the owner was so nice and quickly made up a table for us. I have to say that upon entering the premises it looks like you have stepped back in time … The decor is warm but quirky which I quite liked. It definitely did not visibly look like it would make for award winning meals – but as they say never judge a book by it’s cover.

The restaurant specials are generally more seafood based, however the main menu had a lovely variety of both traditional and non-traditional pub grub.

Before we ordered we were given some fresh bread, dips and butter. This was definitely homemade bread which made it even better!

IMG_7898.PNG

For starters, I was stuck between the stuffed mushrooms with Stilton or the chicken liver parfait.. The meat lover in me took over and I had the parfait.

IMG_7899.PNG

The dish was delicious, the sweet onion chutney was a great accompaniment as always. The parfait was smooth and had plenty of flavour with a good amount of seasoning to taste –  this dish is a definite recommendation from me personally.

My sister tried the stuffed mushrooms, of which I had a taste, these mushrooms were packed with flavour, the earthiness of the mushroom against the butter taste that they were cooked in and the slight tang from the cheese – they were beautifully served on the plate as well – which made for better eating :).

The soups were all homemade, all looked smoothly thick… I overheard one lady say that this was better than her grandmothers soup – which apparently is or was the best soup she had ever had!!!! So i would also recommend this dish as it comes with the freshly baked bread!!

As it was cold this day, for mains I decided to go for a hearty meal of ham, eggs and chips. Yes, it is not the culinary worlds most refined dish, but my god it hit the spot!

IMG_7773.JPGf

The ham was finely cut and had a lovely salty taste, the chips were chunky and the egg had a slightly runny yolk – the best way to have it!! I had a small side dish of chopped pineapples – again perfect with this dish.

This dish was my favourite and I would happily eat this every time! My mum and sister both had burgers, which looked so succulent and juicy.. Again no complaints what so ever were voiced on their side. My mum who is not a big meat eater even complimented the dish saying that the meat and brioche bun were delicious – so based on that alone I would highly recommend the burger dishes too.

Unfortunately, I opted out of the desserts but was slightly swayed by their homemade raspberry and orange cheesecake – however my stomach could not do it as it was so full form the meal – a note is that the portions are definitely big.

A must visit if ever in Sutton Coldfield for a good old hearty pub meal!

IMG_7897.PNG

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑